From Gig Hell to Gig Heaven….20 Hours in Texas….

I started my day yesterday at 5AM…..I drove to the south side of Houston and loaded in and set up a system on an outdoor stage in the oppressive Texas Morning Dew and Humidity and proceeded to completely sweat completely through every stitch of clothing I had on…….I am talking about being able to ring out all my clothes soaked in sweat…..it’s a terrible feeling…..and while knowing, that because of the humidity, you simply are NOT going to get dry anytime soon……….then just when you think that you could not feel any worse, suddenly, a Texas Thunderstorm crops up and completely drenched the stage and all of us on it……thunder, lightning, total frog drowning downpour…….so by then it was 12 noon and there was no way to be any more wet without being completely submerged underwater……..but we did manage to get the rig covered in plastic in time while getting completely soaked……GIG HELL !!

Lucky for me, I somehow saw this coming and had brought several changes of clothes……..so after we finished this load in and set up and downpour, I changed clothes, and left that gig and proceeded to my next scheduled thing on my list yesterday, which was an interview at Bright Star Productions in Downtown Houston with Larry Huff. Once there, I discovered that Larry was the same guy I did a load out with last Friday night in Downtown Houston. The Interview went as good as I had hoped and it sounds like more work will be coming my way from the guys at Bright Star Productions…….so at this point, I figured the day might be improving…………it was now 3PM…….

By 4PM I arrived in West Houston at the Hotel Sorella at the Monnalisa Bar for my gig that evening…….it is a high-brow place……..NOT the kind of place that most people going to see great live Texas music would go to usually, let alone, think of…….it has tons of acoustical nightmares with tons of glass around the stage, and such……so of course, I was expecting the worst for my gig that evening and more GIG HELL……..but, much to my surprise, and this my friends is the best part about the incredible Texas Music Scene, GIG HEAVEN just happens when you least expect it……the band was an Austin, Texas based group called “BettySoo”……we did a sound check and walked away and came back at 10 PM and did two 50 minute sets until 12 Midnight……..and in those two sets, I heard, Intelligent, and crafty songwriting, killer 2 and 3 part Vocal harmonies, and in those two sets of Music, was treated to more of the most amazing tasty guitar hooks and leads than I have been present for in the last 10 years in Las Vegas combined……I do not know what it is, but, Texas just breeds amazing guitar players…….This my friends is why the best music scene in America is in Texas…….The Guitar Player on Stage left was Will Sexton (Charlie Sexton’s Brother) and two weeks ago, Will was playing in Bob Dylan’s band…….on the break between sets, Will found me and told me it sounded fantastic on stage……All was suddenly right with the world……GIG HEAVEN…….we talked at length about mutual Austin, TX friends (Kim Wilson and the Fabulous Thunderbird’s and Ian Moore, and of course his Brother Charlie, and a host of others)……..we exchanged business cards and then proceeded to do the second set…….we came, we rocked, and we left…….and everyone was smiling…..Perfection in GIG HEAVEN……..Powered down the system, put away the Microphones, and walked out the door and drove home arriving at 2:30 AM………

From GIG HELL to GIG HEAVEN in 20 Hours under a Texas Full Moon………

UPDATE: Woke up this morning to discover someone had crashed into the back of my car while I was asleep in Bed…….SIGH!!

20110329-035257.jpg

Leave a Reply

