DAY TWO….2011 HOUSTON I-FEST….STAGE CHANGE..??!!

At the end of day one of the Houston 2011 I-Fest, we of course covered all the gear in plastic to protect it from possible rain or morning dew moisture…….so on day two, of the Houston 2011 I-Fest, I showed up about 90 minutes earlier than I was scheduled too to uncover the gear and check the system providing me some extra time to get everything in order before the days bands started to show up……I got the rig uncovered, and the mics put back out on the stands by 8:30 AM…….THEN MY CELL PHONE RANG……..

It was Kat Harris with LD Systems who was heading up the production tent on the show sites that was overseeing all the festival stages……..Her first question for me……”How well do you know the Yamaha PM5D Digital Console?”……. I informed her that I knew it well, and she then informed me that they had carted off Alan Van Dyke in an ambulance from FOH of the World Stage (the main festival stage) who had went into diabetic shock……..so she was now moving me off the monitor desk of the Louisiana Stage and was putting me at FOH of the World Stage…….so off I went……

Once I arrived at the main festival stage, Jack at the monitor desk brought me up to speed quickly and I went out to FOH……

I ended up mixing FOH for the first act (some Indian act that was very interesting with all the exotic acoustic instruments)……..then I ended up giving a ton of PM5D Digital Console lessons for the engineer of the second act who had never used the desk before…….he did a great job with my help and his great act from Uzbekistan with a ton of world class performers and instrumentalists sounded amazing……..

Then of course we really got the stage and the festival rockin with an amazing set from blues man KEB MOE……I was completely blown away by his set…….great blues numbers with slot of really humorous songs…….

Then…..blues great ROBERT CRAY hit the stage and he really had the crowd in the palm of his hands during his incredible set…….then we got Usama Bin Ladin…….what a great day……..me at FOH on the LD Systems big rig on the main stage of the I-Fest, great music, big crowds, great people watching……AND we got Bin Ladin……..it was a fantastic day…….it does not get much better than that………..

GET BETTER ALAN…..!!

20110510-055305.jpg

20110510-055319.jpg

20110510-055340.jpg

20110510-055353.jpg

20110510-055410.jpg

Leave a Reply

